Home

donald-trump1-530x298

Let me start this post by making this very clear: politics is a foreign language to me. However, this election has had a tremendous effect on most people, including myself, and I wanted to offer some insight and share my view on how Donald Trump went from being a laughing stock, to the President-Elect of the United States.

This journey starts at the 2011 White House Correspondents’ Dinner. Trump has flirted with the idea of running for president in the past but this night in particular sets the stage for Trump’s potential run for the presidency. Trump was invited to the dinner and the night usually consisted of the attendees poking fun at one another. However, President Obama had some harsh words to say about The Donald.

“No one is happier, no one is prouder, to put this birth certificate matter to rest than The Donald. That’s because he can finally get back to focusing on the issues that matter like did we fake the Moon landing? What really happened in Roswell? And where are Biggie and Tupac?”

Obama didn’t hold back and kept on going.

“Obviously we know about your credentials and breadth of experience. For example, seriously, in an episode of Celebrity Apprentice, you, Mr. Trump, recognized that the real problem was a lack of leadership. You fired Gary Busey. And these are the kinds of decisions that would keep me up at night,”

Trump sat there with clear disgust and left the dinner early.

I specifically remember an episode of Last Week Tonight hosted by John Oliver. On the episode, Oliver practically dares him to run for President and he would personally write him a check for his campaign fund if he were to do so. It doesn’t stop there. Stephen Colbert talks to a picture of Donald Trump as if he was a little kid saying, “You’re not going to be President” and “It’s been fun, it’s been great, but come on buddy”. I watched a compilation on Twitter where analysts from CNN, Fox News, NBC, and ABC all saying the exact words “it’s the beginning of the end for Donald Trump”. Do I even need to mention his Celebrity Roast on Comedy Central? Trump’s rather harsh critics kept adding fuel to the fire and he wanted to make those critics eat their words.

Trump managed to just that and more as he’ll be sworn in to office in January.

A part of me admires Trump for proving these doubters wrong. I found myself secretly rooting for him to at least do well and have a somewhat successful campaign. I was raised in a Republican household so if I could vote, I most likely would vote for whoever the Republican candidate was. If Trump were in any other election, I would find myself having a hard time voting for him. However, this year’s election was very different from past elections. Hillary’s charisma and her past scandals didn’t really persuade me to switch over from Trump (which is sad). Both candidates’ were too busy bashing one another, which had a significant effect on me. Neither candidate really gave me a reason to vote for them. Both gave me reasons not to vote for the other candidate, but I found it hard to be inspired by either candidate.

Yes I am fully aware that I could have voted for a potential criminal, racist, and sexist, but can a Hillary supporter really judge me for doing so? Their candidate is a pathological liar who is surrounded by scandal. The criticism goes both ways and what we as a country, really need to focus on for the next four years (or eight) is to show unity as Americans. No matter whom the winner was going to be, the country was going to be divided and we need to fix the emotional bandages this election caused us all.

The result isn’t going to change anytime soon. Protest all you want, it’s your right to, but the election is over and past us. Moving forward, the best we can hope for is a successful Trump presidency. It’s for the sake of your future and mine.

Leave a Reply

